Luna Turista
ORIGINAL RELEASE DATE: October 12, 2009 on Floating World
AVAILABLE IN: CD & Digital Download (wav)

1.  Simple Touch of the Hand
2.  Sad Ride Home
3.  Trouble from Tomorrow
4.  Third Time's a Charm
5.  Silver Ladle
6.  Luckenbach Texas
7.  Strange
8.  Why Am I Awake
9.  The One You Wanted
All These Pretty Things

Luna Turista' is Eileen’s fifth studio album, released in Europe on Floating World Records. It features 8 new Eileen Rose songs, a cover of Waylon Jennings' 1977 hit "Luckenback Texas", and a new version of "Silver Ladle", which Eileen originally recorded for her debut album 'Shine Like It Does'.

Eileen made this album with her band The Holy Wreck - The Legendary Rich Gilbert (Human Sexual Response, Frank Black) and Nate Stalfa (Knock Down Society, Caitlin Cary). It was recorded half in Nashville, at Fry Pharmacy studios, and half at UFO studios in Berlin on a stop on the band’s Spring 2009 European tour.

Eileen chose to release this record under the name of The Holy Wreck because “it is more of a ‘band’ record for me than a ‘singer-songwriter’ album. The talent and skill of Rich and Nate are definitely highlighted. It’s also very much a performance record – though not a 'live' sounding record. It’s just that we all performed the songs together, in one take, very few overdubs and almost no compiling of various takes. We’ve been touring about half the year together so we have that played-in sound that made this possible.”

The album also features Joshua Hedley on fiddle and vocals. Joshua is the fiddle player in Justin Townes Earle’s band and has released a solo EP, 'Green Eyes', which features a duet with Eileen.

Luna Turista was mixed by Rob Clark, who works a lot with Neil Young. He mixed 'Prairie Wind', produced Crosby, Stills and Nash’s 'Déjà Vu' and was mixing the second release of Archive songs from Neil Young at the same time he was working on Luna Turista. “I was pretty excited to get him because the record does have a bit of a 'Harvest'/'After The Goldrush' feel to it”, Eileen says.

The album title is rough Italian for “tourist moon”.  “The cover shot is from a beautiful show outdoor summer show we did in Italy at the top of rocky hill under a big full moon.  The promoter said to me, before we went on, ‘tonight you will play on the moon’. I thought that was lovely notion.  It stuck with me.”

Eileen Rose – vocals, acoustic guitar, piano, harmonica

The Legendary Rich Gilbert – electric guitar, pedal steel, banjo, organ, piano, mandolin, bass, tiple

Nate Stalfa – drums, percussion

Joshua Hedley – fiddle and vocals

What the critics said...

Brilliant album from the great Eileen Rose and band ****1/2  – MAVERICK MAGAZINE

“Best yet from swaggering alt-country rocker” – AMERICANA.CO.UK

“The quality of her songwriting improves with every album and she is now a remarkably accomplished word-smith, but it is her vocal performance on this album which steals the show” – CLASSIC ROCK SOCIETY

“Rose’s most accomplished work to date” – NEW-CLASSICS.CO.UK

“Every single song on Luna Turista could be pulled off the album and released as a single… 5/5 stars…” - PENNYBLACKMUSIC.CO.UK